The San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department is dedicated to the safety of its residents.The Sheriff is authorized to issue concealed carry weapon permits (CCW) to county residents who qualify under California law.A CCW authorizes a private person to carry a concealed firearm in public. To begin the process or to renew a permit please follow these steps:
To qualify you must
- Be of good moral character
- Full-time resident of San Bernardino County
- Be at least 21 years old
- Own and have a gun registered in California
- Not have any open criminal cases or pending citations
- Not have any felony convictions or specified misdemeanors per Penal Code Sections 29900-29905
- Not be on active probation
New Application Process
Renewal Application Process
Department Required Forms
Employees Resources will contact you to schedule your firearms safety course date. Penal Code Section 26165, requires all CCW permit holders to attend a mandatory 4-hour training course before issuance of a new or renewal CCW permit.
Retired Reserve Annual Firearms Qualification Form
All retired reserves are required to qualify annually with their firearms
This form must be provided to the range master for completion and forwarded to
Volunteer Forces upon successful qualification
The form must be used for all annual qualifications regardless of where the range is located
We will only accept qualifications that occur at a Law Enforcement Range
Failure to qualify annually will annually will result in the revocation of a CCW endorsed ID card.
DOJ Firearms Information for CA Residents
Residents of Redlands or Upland, please contact your law enforcement agency to begin the CCW process.